On X-Men: First Class…

Ok, I have already watched X-Men: First Class. LOVED IT!!

Basically, this movie is about Charles Xavier and Eric Lensherr, how they came to know each other and become friends, and how they began what later would be the X-Men. We meet characters such as Mystique, Havoc, Beast, Banshee, etc., and it made them very, very human despite their mutations. I will now tell you of things I liked and didn’t like so much; if you haven’t seen the movie, you may want to watch it before you read the following. Spoilers!!

I liked practically everything. The performances were in general very, very good. Especially James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender. They were able to make Professor X and Magneto really likeable and they helped you understand them. Jennifer Lawrence was very good too; thanks to her you really get Mystique. Another thing I really liked was the first sequence of the movie; you can tell Bryan Singer had a hand in the movie… the recreation of the first sequence of X-Men (2000) is impressive, and it really helps to think of it as a prequel. I also liked Kevin Bacon as Sebastian Shaw; ruthless guy, really. Great special effects, great action scenes. One detail I really loved was the inclusion of Hugh Jackman and Rebecca Romjin (as Wolverine and an older Mystique). It makes all the movies fall together very nicely. Oh, and the special effects of Emma Frost’s diamond skin are beautiful!!

Things I didn’t like… well, there aren’t many. January Jones looks very good as Emma Frost, but she acts equally frosty… not very expressive, to say the least. Not my favorite. And talking about her, the scene where Magneto binds her to the foot of the bed and starts to “strangle” her with the metal tube… Honestly? What can metal do to diamond? That really took me out of the movie for a second. But ok, it’s make believe.

I think this movie would fall beautifully with the others, but there is one detail: How is it that here you see Xavier and Magneto fall apart while they’re still young, but in X-Men 3 they go get Jean Grey together? Not to mention that you can see a not so old Xavier in the same movie, but he can still walk? There is where you can really feel Bryan Singer’s absence in X-Men 3.

All in all, I loved the movie and I will get it when it comes out on DVD. And I’m expecting a sequel!! Everything points to a second part, and I hope they make it soon. I really enjoyed the movie, and I absolutely recommend it!!

See you next time, guys!

Please let me know what you think!!

