On The Sixth Sense…

Ok, I did it, I watched “The Sixth Sense” with my 10yo and 8yo.

It was an interesting experience… of course I had to tell them to pay attention, because they asked questions all the time. But I got them to pay attention at the end, and they liked it. My 8yo got a bit scared at times, but it was nothing that a hug from mommy couldn’t fix… The funny part is that I had to explain the ending to them, because they didn’t quite get it on their own… Oh well, bit by bit.

I had them see it with me because I wanted them to see some suspense; kids like that. I think it’s not the time to show them horror yet; that will come much later. I watched horror movies when I was a kid, but it was different then… horror movies looked fake many times, and they weren’t as graphic as they are now. Gore is ever present nowadays. Don’t get me wrong, I like my movies (the proper ones) with a healthy amount of gore, but not all of them.

I think my first horror movies were “The Amityville Horror” and “An American werewolf in London”. Both great movies. I remember I used to think Amityville was really scary, and now it’s seems so… not. An American werewolf… is still very good, I think it holds up, and the transformation remains one of the very best ever. I also watched “Tales from the Crypt” and “Creepshow”, and both terrified and fascinated me big time. I’d love to get my hands on them…

Of course, I have my modern day classics. All the “Saw” movies, “Dead Silence”, “Drag me to Hell” (hilarious)… but I also love others such as “The Shining”, “The Omen”, “The Exorcist”… I love horror movies in general. I wish the genre were taken more seriously; though… there are movies that you just don’t know if to flush or smash with a hammer.

Do you like horror flicks? Probably, either you hate them or you love them. Horror tends to do that to people.

Oh, and I haven’t forgotten about the question I asked in the previous post… I just preferred to talk about this now. See you!!

Please let me know what you think!!

