On Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, part 2…

Ok, so I guess now it’s time to give my review. If you haven’t seen the film, you might want to come back later… SPOILERS!!

I think everybody knows more or less what this second installment is all about. Basically, Harry, Ron and Hermione have to find and destroy the horcruxes that are left, and finally defeat Voldemort. That’s it, in a few words.

Positive points: pretty much all the movie. Many things that stood out to me were: the scene in Bellatrix’s vault at Gringotts, the escape with the blind dragon (I pretty much imagined it like that when I read the book), the scene with Ariana in the picture, Harry’s arrival at the Room of Requirement (when I heard the music by John Williams I started crying like a baby), the duel between McGonagall and Snape, McGonagall movilizing the suits of armor, the Helena Ravenclaw’s scene, the battle of Hogwarts, Snape’s death, the Prince’s Tale (AMAZING), Molly Weasley against Bellatrix (Not my daughter, you b***h!!), the final Harry vs. Voldemort duel, and the Epilogue. I know, I know… that’s about all the movie, right? I tell you, I loved it. Especially the Prince’s Tale. Alan Rickman’s performance was sublime. The scene including V’s death was also great, almost like I had pictured it… Of course they had to extend some scenes to make them more exciting, because if they had filmed them the way they were in the book, they would have happened too fast, and not with much action involved. One scene that was added specifically for the movie was the one in the Chamber of Secrets; I really liked it, and it was the perfect way to have Ron and Hermione kiss, since there were no house elves to keep safe, right? Regarding the diadem scene, Helena Ravenclaw was performed by Kelly McDonald, and she did it brilliantly. I had seen her in Nanny McPhee and Boardwalk Empire; she’s a great actress.

Negative points… I don’t have many. They were basically omissions: Kreacher, for example. I wish they had shown how he really becomes Harry’s servant, but out of love and respect. But I expected it, since they failed to show almost everything about him in DH1. I also wanted Harry to fix his own wand, and they didn’t show that. I’d have loved to see Percy coming back to the light side, but that absence was to be expected as well. You can see him, but that’s it. I would have liked to see Harry and Voldemort fight in front of all the school, and the dialogue… but it would have stood in the way of the action, so I get it.

They could have made up the boys better for the Epilogue too… the girls looked very good, but the guys looked too old to be in their late 30’s. Especially Draco. But they looked ok, and it was a very nice ending, especially with John Williams’s music.

The music deserves to be pointed out. Alexandre Desplat did a wonderful job!! The music gets you into the movie and reflects the troubles, the desperation, the nostalgia. Special mention goes to Lily’s theme. I had never bought a Harry Potter soundtrack, but this time I did. Great, great music.

After watching DH2 I can only say that I can’t wait for it to come out on DVD and Blu-Ray… I still have to watch it another 200 times at the very least. Great movie, the best possible ending to an incredible saga. I won’t say that it’s the end of a generation, because Harry Potter is far from being over. It’s in the books, in the movies, and if that weren’t enough, Pottermore is coming!!!

People, I highly recommend Deathly Hallows part 2. I will be surprised if it isn’t nominated for many golden Globes, and even Oscars. Loved it, loved it, LOVED IT.

See you soon!!

Please let me know what you think!!

