My top 5 favorite books…

Ok, that’s a tough one. My top 5 favorite books are, in no particular order: The Neverending Story, The Lord of the Rings, Cien Años de Soledad, Harry Potter and The Secret.

5. The Secret – This book had a deep impact in my life. It was a wake-up call to see that we have a lot more control over our lives than we think most of the times… and it confirmed something that I’d been thinking already. You attract the things that you concentrate on, good or bad. For example, it was “funny” to see how my dad used to get all the bones in the cod my mom cooked for Christmas Eve. Always. Nobody else ever did. I remember thinking “well, you hate them so much and make such a fuss about it, that you obviously get all of them”. Boy, was I right. One must always consciously fill one’s head with good thinking, hard as it may sometimes be.

4. Cien Años de Soledad – This was an important book for me because it was one of the first books I read for pleasure even though it was a school assignment. The story captured me, and that is really important if you’re 16 years old.

3. The Neverending Story – This was the book that made me fall in love with reading. And it is right up my alley too: Fantasy!! Love the genre. I just love being able to step out of my reality and into a colorful world that is just how I imagine it. Plus, I think this book has different things to offer to different ages, When I was 11 and first read it, it told me something. When I read it years later, it always said something new to me. Every time. It’s a beautiful, beautiful book.

2. Harry Potter – All the books. It is just great to submerge in a world where good and evil collide, and where it is obvious that evil never, ever, has a chance to win. Why? Because evil people just don’t get that there are more important things than power, greed, the desire for everlasting life, etc., and good people are willing to go the distance to protect the ones they love. Love triumphs over evil, every time. My favorite books of the saga are Deathly Hallows and the Prisoner of Azkaban. But in general, I never get tired of rereading them.

1. The Lord of the Rings – My absolute favorite. It has always been hard for me to explain why, though. Maybe it’s because every possible virtue is present: love, loyalty, friendship, the love for your country, majesty, beauty… and of course, the good guys triumph over the bad guy, or the bad eye. Oh, and Saruman dies.

Well in a nutshell, that’s it. I have read many more books, and I intend to read many others as well. But these are my all-time favorites, and the ones I keep coming back to.

See you soon!

 

One thought on “My top 5 favorite books…

  1. Pingback: My 5 Favorite Books « another cup of coffee

Please let me know what you think!!

