My 5 favorite Fantasy movies

Ok, I just had to talk about these, so I couldn’t wait longer. Fantasy has to be my favorite genre. I really love everything you can do and imagine when reading a fantasy book or watching a fantasy movie. And my favorites are:

5. Labyrinth. I was thinking about The Dark Crystal, but Labyrinth beats it. Great music, Jim Henson’s puppets, David Bowie… what could go wrong?

4. The Neverending Story. I only put this movie here, and not in 3rd place, because it is a bit dated. However, I have loved it ever since the day I first saw it. I don’t know why, but it really touched me deeply. After I saw it, I read the book, and you know it’s also one of my favorites. Oh, and it’s also one of the few movies I would love to see remade, but the whole book, and well adapted.

3. The Chronicles of Narnia. I haven’t read these books, but I will, eventually. But the movies are good, beautiful, and deep. My favorite so far is The Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

2. Harry Potter. WHAT?? Harry Potter in second place? Yes, but very close to the first place, rest assured. I also put it in second place because as much as I like all the movies, they have not been very consistent, and the adaptation is not always the best. My favorite of all is Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2.

1. The Lord of the Rings. OF COURSE!! Great movie, very efficient adaptation, unequaled casting, very consistent… it just had to be my number one. Incidentally, these are also my favorite movies of all time. My favorite of the three? The Return of the King. Oh, did I mention I love Viggo Mortensen? I do.

Ok, I’ll be back soon with more favorites… See you later!!

2 thoughts on “My 5 favorite Fantasy movies

  1. While it’s far less well-known than the movies you listed, I’d highly suggest the movie Mirrormask. I consider it a fantasy movie and it’s great fun to watch. It has a really unique style (I think 3/4 of the movie was done with a green-screen) and an interesting story. Fun movie.

Please let me know what you think!!

