On some dirty apes…

Well, I finally got the chance to watch Rise of the Planet of the Apes. I must confess that when I first heard about it, it didn’t appeal to me, not one bit. But I started hearing good things about it, and I recently listened to a podcast about it. Then I really started looking forward to watching it. I did so yesterday, and boy, was I surprised!! The movie is GOOD. If you must put it alongside the other Planet of the Apes movies, one would say it’s a prequel… but I feel it’s just different.

It’s basically the story of Will (James Franco), a scientist who is working on a cure for Alzheimer’s. At Gen-Sys, where he works, they test their drugs on apes, of course. He administers the drug on a female chimp, who starts to display astonishing intelligence… until something happens, and he is basically forced to keep the female’s baby chimp, who he and his father name Caesar. Because of the drug his mother was given, Caesar is born with abnormal intelligence. Here begins a journey in which Caesar discovers who he is, and where he belongs… as well as who he belongs with.

The performances are very good. Special mention goes to John Lithgow, who is excellent (as usual) in his role of Will’s Alzheimer’s suffering father. But the one performance I have to take my hat off to is the incredible Andy Serkis. As you probably know, he was King Kong in the 2005 remake, and Gollum in The Lord of the Rings. In this movie, however, he goes even higher… his performance as Caesar is absolutely brilliant. The movements, the facial expressions, the look in his eyes… Wow. I will be really surprised if he is not nominated for an award for this role. Really.

The movie also has lots of references to the previous movies… I recommend you go to http://www.imdb.com to check them out; it’s a lot of fun!

I don’t really have negative points… maybe James Franco was a bit bland in his portrayal of Will. Don’t get me wrong, I liked him, but I felt he just wasn’t there yet. Tom Felton was pretty good, but I really would love to see him in something where he didn’t remind me so much of Draco Malfoy. He needs to play a good guy. Freida Pinto looks gorgeous, and I liked her performance. I absolutely think there will be a sequel, and I hope there is!!!

This is a movie you should definitely watch. It’s fun, entertaining, touching, and it goes so fast!! Oh, when the credits begin, stay a bit longer; don’t push stop just yet.

So, this is my review. Feel free to comment, agree with me or way I’m nuts. It’s ok!! See you soon!

4 thoughts on “On some dirty apes…

Please let me know what you think!!

