On Real Steel!!!!

I finally got to see this movie, and I absolutely LOVED it!! (again? Yes, again… I love to love movies). It was exciting, heartwarming, and definitely not as predictable as I thought it would be… I pictured it as being “bad dad gets stuck with son-falls in love with son-doesn’t want to leave him after all”. And while there’s a grain of truth to that, there’s more to this movie than just that.

First, there’s Hugh Jackman. As my faithful friends will remember, I love Hugh Jackman. Plus, in this movie he actually smiles a lot… and this man has the most beautiful smile ever. But I digress. Hugh Jackman plays this dad who never gave a damn about his son (by the way, this kid is an awesome little actor!!). Suddenly he has to, because the kid’s mother dies. But since the man is in the robot fighting business (did I mention it’s the year 2020?), he basically has to take the kid everywhere. And there’s also a girlfriend, played by Evangeline Lilly from Lost. And I loved her too!! Long story short, they find a robot; an old robot. And, they have to make this robot fight, and be good at it. But there’s more to the robot than meets the eye!!

This is a story of self growth, of believing in yourself. Of knowing that if you use your precious human qualities, and you really believe in yourself, you can be a better person. It’s not always about winning, but about giving your 100%.

I think one of the things I liked the most is that the movie is believable. I bought all of it. Not for a second did I even think that any of this couldn’t be true. And if you’re watching a movie where robots fight each other, that is a great accomplishment.

To be honest, I can’t think of anything I didn’t like about Real Steel… but if you can think of something, tell me and we can talk about it!!

Love ya, see you soon!

Please let me know what you think!!

