And the winners were…

Who watched the Academy Awards ceremony? Meeeeee!!! These are the winners, and some of my impressions about them.

Best Cinematography: Robert Richardson, “Hugo”

Best Art Direction: Dante Ferretti and Francesca Lo Schavo, “Hugo” – I’m sorry, I was rooting for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2. I can’t be happy for Hugo.

Best Costume Design: Mark Bridges, “The Artist”

Best Makeup: Mark Coulier and J. Roy Helland, “The Iron Lady” – While I can see the extraordinary work these people did, Deathly Hallows should have won this category. Sorry.

Best Foreign Language Film: “A Separation”

Best Supporting Actress: Octavia Spencer, “The Help”

Best Editing: Kirk Baxter and Angus Wall, “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo”

Best Sound Editing: Phillip Stockton and Eugene Gearty, “Hugo”

Best Sound Mixing: Tom Fleischman and John Midgley, “Hugo”

Best Documentary: “Undefeated”

Best Animated Feature: “Rango” – My heart was with Kung Fu Panda 2. But most definitely, the animation itself was much better in Rango…

Best Visual Effects: “Hugo” – No!!!!! Deathly Hallows!!!!

Best Supporting Actor: Christopher Plummer, “Beginners”

Best Original Score: Ludovic Bource, “The Artist” – Seriously, nobody had a chance here… I mean, John Williams was nominated twice, and he didn’t get it!!!

Best Original Song: Bret McKenzie, “Man or Muppet”

Best Adapted Screenplay: Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash, “The Descendants”

Best Original Screenplay: Woody Allen, “Midnight in Paris”

Best Live Action Short: “The Shore”

Best Documentary Short: “Saving Face” – Can’t wait to watch this one!!

Best Animated Short: “The Fantastic Flying Books Of Mr. Morris Lessmore”

Best Director: Michel Hazanavicius, “The Artist”

Best Actor: Jean Dujardin, “The Artist” – I reaaaaally wanted Gary Oldman to win this one… but I guess the best man won.

Best Actress: Meryl Streep, “The Iron Lady” – YESSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!

Best Picture: “The Artist” – Ok, now I definitely have to watch it. And I hear the dog is excellent.

I have to say that Billy Crystal was awesome, especially when he read people’s (and a dog’s) minds. His jokes were good and tasteful, and funny!! I also LOVED when Colin Firth addressed Meryl Streep. Hilarious! That man has such a funny way to say things. Oh, and when Ms. Streep won for Best Actress… I was actually crying. So emotional!! And she deserved it so badly!!!

What did you think of the results? Please comment!!

See you soon!

4 thoughts on “And the winners were…

  1. Yes! You must now watch ‘The Artist’. I loved it. So well done, so funny and endearing and charming…oh…that Jean Dujardin is charming. And yes, the dog is great 🙂

    And I must finally watch ‘Iron Lady’, I do love Meryl and haven’t seen it yet.

    I didn’t watch the awards, was watching Goblet of Fire instead 😉

    And sad that HP didn’t win anything 😦

Please let me know what you think!!

