On The Phantom of the Opera…

WHAT??? SO SOON?? Yes, I’m back. Didn’t I say “See you (very) soon”? Well, Here I am. And the thing is, I can’t wait to give this fangirl talk review…

Ok, the thing is I got The Phantom of the Opera 25th Anniversary Performance on DVD, along with another one that I’ll talk about later… and I just have to talk about it.

Let me begin by saying that I’ve been a fan of the Phantom even before, a long time before, I knew what it was. I heard the main song on a TV show, and from that day on until I was approximately 20 years old, I searched for it. Not knowing what it was or who had composed it. Did I mention I was like 11 or 12 at the time? I didn’t think so. I can be very stubborn persistent, you see. As you can imagine, I found the soundtrack, and I learned it by heart… I bought the book, I read it, and I even read the sequel to the book. The point is, I LOVED it. Sarah Brightman sounded so clean, so fresh… Michael Crawford was sweet, crazy and murderous at the same time… Aaahhhh… But I digress.

Then, one wonderful night when I was about 24 or 25, I got to see the play in Mexico. Words cannot describe what I felt. Incidentally, it was the last play I saw with my mother. Anyways, years later I saw the movie, and I was a bit divided… I loved Gerard Butler, but while I liked Emmy Rossum, she was less than perfect. Patrick Wilson was very good as Raoul, and Miranda Richardson was an excellent Madame Giry. I loved the movie, but Christine Daaé  needs to really sing. Emmy Rossum fell short there.

And that brings me to the 25th Anniversary performance. WOW. I never thought I’d get to see the play once more, and with a cast this good… Romin Karimloo is a very, very good Phantom. Excellent voice. Sierra Boggess is great as Christine; she has the voice, plus her performance is powerful and moving. Hadley Fraser is an attractive Raoul, who can both sing beautifully and convince you that he loves Christine… In general, all the cast is awesome. The play itself is incredible. That first scene involving the chandelier… the realization of the Phantom that he must let christine go… All of it is a masterpiece.

At the end, Andrew Loyd Webber makes an appearance along with Charles Hart and the original creative theam, and so does the original cast. Sarah Brightman sings “The Phantom of the Opera” with four of the Phantom actors, including my beloved Colm Wilkinson. All in all, it’s a must-see if you’re a Phantom lover.

So, there you have it. I’m a sucker for musicals. My next post will be about another musical…

See you soon!! Sing for meeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

Please let me know what you think!!

