On Les Misérables…

YES!! This is the other DVD I got; Les Misérables in concert at the O2 Arena, for its 25th anniversary. I have to make clear the I already had the 10th Anniversary concert with the Dream Cast.

I discovered Les Misérables thanks to another event, “Hey, Mr. Producer!“, which was a celebration of Cameron McKintosh. I bought it because it contained other of his productions of his which I love, of course including The Phantom and Cats. And there it was, almost at the end of the concert… I found it incredibly profound and beautiful. So, I got the CD and DVD of the 10th Anniversary concert. The singers I already knew were Michael Ball (whom I love) and Lea Salonga. And I must say, I fell in love with that musical, big time. And it really contained the Dream Cast!! Everyone was exceptionally good.

Anyway, I wanted to get this one basically because I can be pretty paranoid about what I like (noooooooo, really?). Plus, it mentioned the participation of some of my favorite singers, and Lea Salonga was actually part of the cast. It said Nick Jonas was there too, and I was frankly curious. I don’t really know the guy, but I was curious to see him sing there.

One thing I like and thank is that this production is more like a play than the previous concert, and they explain the story a bit better. It is pretty impressive. Alfie Boe, who plays Jean Valjean, has a phenomenal voice. I was also impressed with Norm Lewis, who plays Javert. They look and sound good together on stage. Lea Salonga plays Fantine, and here I regret to say I preferred her as Eponine. She’s very good as Fantine, but… I don’t know, I like her better as Eponine. I saw Ramin Karimloo and Hadley Fraser again (they’re in the Phantom too, remember?), now playing Enjolras and Grantaire. Both reaaaaaaaally good! Katie Hall plays Cosette. Her voice is very good, but she lacks the passion and feeling (and the more potent voice) Judy Kuhn gave the part. Samantha Barks plays Eponine, and she does a fantastic job. The one that (from my personal point of view) failed dismally was the Jonas kid. He had NOTHING to do against those great singers. I liked his onstage presence, but that was it.

At the end they presented the original 1985 company; Colm Wilkinson sang “Bring him home” with other 4 Valjeans, including Alfie. Beautiful. Then everybody sang “One day more”, and I got chills… This is really one of the most powerful concerts I have seen.

Please, if you do get the chance to see musicals like Les Mis or the Phantom, go see them… there are people (such as myself) who would love a chance to see them, and we can’t…

And of course, the film is being made!! I can’t be happier about it! Some of the members of the cast are: Hugh Jackman (Jean Valjean), Russell Crowe (Javert), Anne Hathaway (Fantine), Amanda Seyfried (Cosette), Sacha Baron Cohen (Thenardier), Helena Bonham Carter (Mme. Thenardier), Samantha Barks (Eponine), Colm Wilkinson (yohoooooooo) as the Bishop, Eddie Redmayne (Marius), etc…. I truly can’t wait. Hugh Jackman is going to be awesome as Valjean!! I keep asking myself if Russell Crowe can sing. I guess we’ll see… I love the idea of Colm Wilkinson returning, now to the role of the Bishop. So emotional!!

Well, I’ve talked about this enough… I hope you’ll let me know what you think. In the meantime…

See you soon!

8 thoughts on “On Les Misérables…

  1. When I was in highschool I sat in my room and listened to the soundtrack to Les Mis erables for hours and hours. My parents thought I was listening to something bad or of the devil but when they found out what it was this they were relieved. Ever since I have loved loved this story/musical. Everytime it has come to Memphis I made a point to go see this. I did see this particular musical during a telethon PBS was doing and enjoyed watching all over again. Great Post and Topic!
    -Steve

  2. Definitely my favorite Musical of all-time. I’m stoked for Tom Hooper’s adaptation with an incredible cast.

  3. Pingback: The 5 top movies I want to see this year… « On life and stuff…

Please let me know what you think!!

