On Midnight in Paris…

 

I’d wanted to watch Midnight in Paris for a while, and now I have. What a lovely movie. I have to say that I don’t normally like Woody Allen’s films that much, but this one captivated me.

Midnight in Paris is the story of Gale, a Hollywood writer who is writing a novel for the first time, and is not that sure how the book is going. He is in Paris on vacation with his fiancée and his in-laws. And at midnight, his world changes… or should I say the time he is living at? He suddenly realizes he has traveled to the 20’s, his favorite time, and he starts meeting his idols: Scott Fitzgerald, Pablo Picasso, Ernest Hemingway, Salvador Dali, etc… and maybe a new love.

Some of the actors involved are Owen Wilson (Gale), Rachel McAdams, Kathy Bates, Michael Sheen, Adrien Brody, Marion Cotillard, etc. I think all the performances are great, really… Rachel McAdams impressed me because I never thought she could be such a pain! Tom Hiddleston and Adrien Brody are excellent as well… really, when I was watching Brody, I felt like I was looking at Dali!!

The story is engaging and easy; it’s a very friendly movie. Each time you have a chance to meet a new person from the past, it’s so incredible… I felt I was really meeting them. The scenery is breathtaking, and the music… the music!! Lovely, really. This is one of those movies that leave you with a warm feeling, and the certainty that the best time for each one of us is the time we are living. We need to know what to do with what we have.

If you want to watch a nice movie, which can be romantic or not, which makes you think but doesn’t tire you, this is the one.

Thanks for reading, and feel free to leave comments!! See you soon!

8 thoughts on “On Midnight in Paris…

  1. This movie was delightful. I’ve been a fan of Woody Allen for a long time, but sometimes his movies are hit and miss. This is definitely a hit, for me. Lovely story. And I loved the historic figures sprinkled throughout.

  2. I loved this movie! But I must admit I AM A WOODY ALLEN FAN. All the actors in this movie really impressed me specially McAdams and Wilson, I never thought they could get out of their “confort zone” on choosing characters.

  3. Based on your recommendation, I watched this on the weekend. What a lovely little movie. Generally I pass on Allen movies, for multiple reasons, but loved this one. Lovely, light and charming. Great acting by the historical characters…Dali, Hemingway, both Fitzgeralds. Sadly, Rachel McAdams will never convince me that she has talent, but she wasn’t in it much. Owen Wilson was a surprise, he was charming and likeable. Will watch again.

Please let me know what you think!!

