On A Game of Thrones…

I just finished reading the first book of “A Song of Fire and Ice” series, “A Game of Thrones“. Wow, I’m really at a loss for words here… bu I’ll try to do my best. I really liked this book, and I’ll tell you why.

I had heard a lot about this book, especially since the first season of the HBO series aired. I don’t have HBO, so I haven’t watched the series. All the better for me, because I always prefer to read the base material first and only later watch the movie, or series, in this case. And I have to say, I’ve been blown away by this book.

As you all may already know, this is the story of the Seven Kingdoms, of the King who rules them… and what happens when he dies. There are many Houses in these kingdoms, and many of them want the Iron Throne… some others don’t want it at all, but are still drawn to the midst of the battle.

We could say that the story revolves around the members of House Stark, Eddard, Catelyn, their children and Eddard’s bastard son, Jon. I hate the word, but they repeat it endlessly. They are, I think, the most honorable of the Houses. Other Houses, but not all, are the Lannisters, the Targaryens, the Arryns, the Baratheons, the Tullys, etc. some Houses are more or less honorable, more or less evil, coward, good, bad. One thing I like here is that you can seldom say that a House is good or bad; like in life, there are a hundred shades of gray.

The characters I like the most go as follows:

Eddard Stark, obviously. Honor and righteousness embodied. And I think Sean Bean is perfect for the role… I’m dying to see him in it.

Tyrion Lannister. This man is so full of intricate details… I think he’s mostly a decent guy, but he is very flawed. This makes him deeply interesting. And I can’t think of anyone else but Peter Dinklage to play him. He’s a splendid actor, and he has a voice to die for. I do have to stress that he’s much better looking than the Tyrion in the books, though.

Jon Snow. It must be horrible to know you’re your father’s son, and still you can’t be called your father’s son. I love this guy.

Bran Stark. Adorable, wise and unfortunate… I can’t wait to see what happens to him in the next books. No spoilers, please.

Rickon Stark. You barely see him, but I’m parcial to toddlers.

The direwolves. All of them!!! Especially Ghost and Nymeria.

Samwell Tarly. It takes courage to stand up to your friends, but it takes even more courage to stand up to your friends… as Dumbledore would say.

Danaeris Targaryen. I just like her.

There are others, but I’d take too long to name them all. Who DON’T I like? Cersei, Joffrey, Sansa (I hope she becomes less unbearable), Jaime, Lysa and her son, Viserys (UGH!!), etc. It was good to see some of them get what was coming to them…. and I hold my hopes for the future books.

Now I can’t wait to see the first season of the series. My only complaint is… does Sean Bean really have to die almost every time??? And he was good!!! Not fair.

Oh, fun fact: I took two tests and in both I turned out to be House Arryn. I suppose it’s good, because I like what was said of Jon Arryn. As of Lysa… can’t stand the woman. But I like the motto, “As High as Honor”. The blue and the eagle are good too… they suspiciously remind me of my proud House of Ravenclaw. The Ari likes!!

Well, I’ll let you know when I finish the second book… I hope it’s soon, because I honestly can’t wait to see how the future of all ot these multifaceted characters unfolds. What an interesting, endearing story!!!

Well, that’s all now… let me know what you think; do you like the series?

 

 

5 thoughts on “On A Game of Thrones…

  1. Ah!!! Yes, Game of Thrones. Quite possibly my favorite series in both TV and books. So glad you’re on the bandwagon now! I’m at book 4 and haven’t regretting a single bit of it.

  2. I actually tried reading the book, but it felt too dense for me. Maybe my brain cant take so much words in one sentence as of now, but i will definitely try reading it again.

Please let me know what you think!!

