On a really disturbing (yet very good) movie…

The movie in question is We need to talk about Kevin, with Tilda Swinton, John C. Reilly and Ezra Miller. I saw it yesterday, and at the end I couldn’t believe how disturbed I felt.

The story is told using flashbacks as well as present moments. We get to know Eva (Swinton), a woman who is hated by people, punched in the street, and other nice things… her house is vandalized too. At the beginning you know something is very wrong, but you don’t really know what. The flashbacks lead us through her life; we see her with her boyfriend/husband Franklin (C. Reilly). She is happy… until she gets pregnant. Right there you start to feel how she just doesn’t “click” with her then unborn baby. After that we see her life with Kevin, her son… and all the unsettling things that ensue.

This is not a movie por people who like lineal stories, at all. But I think it had to be told using flashbacks; they help you see how things are wrong with Eva and Kevin, little by little, while showing you what happens during his life. I think it does a terrific job at scaring you, because you notice step by step just how disturbed this young man is.

The acting is awesome, especially Tilda Swinton and Ezra Miller. Tilda shows how devastated, how guilty she feels, but she doesn’t show anything else; she makes you wonder all the time. Ezra portrays Kevin with just the right amount of normalcy and evil. The two boys that play Kevin’s toddler and childhood years are excellent too. All the scenes including Kevin and Eva are full of tension, of distress… and once in a while, something that could be love. My heart beat so fast during all those scenes, really… I could imagine how she felt, but mostly how she wanted to feel but couldn’t: in love with her own child. And obviously, he noticed all those feelings.

The movie made me ask myself questions, too: can people be born evil? Can a mother really feel no love for her offspring? Can a boy do something horrible because he wasn’t nurtured right, or because he’s a horrible person… or maybe both? Whatever the answers, this is a story that moves you, but it also frightens you.

I liked We need to talk about Kevin very much. Not your normal, everyday movie, but I think it’s solid. If you have seen it, what do you think? If not, and if you can stand very stressful movies, I recommend it. I hope you let me know how you feel.

See you soon!

15 thoughts on “On a really disturbing (yet very good) movie…

  1. I’ve read the book a couple of times, but haven’t seen the movie yet. The book is haunting, I’ve not read it in years, but it’s still with me. I was concerned when I read they were making a movie, because I wasn’t sure that they’d get it right, but from your review, and others, I think they might have. I will have to see the movie myself.
    I highly recommend the book…it is extraordinary, though perhaps not so impactful if you’ve seen the movie first.

    • I didn’t know there was a book! Now I’ll have to read it… thanks for telling me!! I won’t read it yet, though; I’m reading “A Clash of Kings”. But I will.

  2. I keep on debating whether or not I will watch this. Read lots of positive reviews but intense stressful movies drain me…Maybe I will suck it up and watch it eventually..

    • I know what you mean… it’s the same with me. My husband always tells me “come oooon, it’s just a movie/TV show/commercial”. Let’s go with movie for this comment’s sake. I get too involved. But this movie is worth it… it makes you think, and hurt, and know what you would never do.

  3. I watched this last night, finally. Incredibly powerful. Swinton was nothing short of spectacular. And Ezra Miller…so great. I wasn’t sure how they would translate it to a movie, but I was impressed. It’s slow, but the book is the same way…it pulls you into the horror of it, and slowly you realize what happened. Superb movie. Not easy to watch, and certainly not for those who want a happy ending, but one that will stay with me for a long time.
    They changed the ending from the book, but I knew that from something that didn’t happen earlier, but still a remarkable movie.

  4. I really liked your review on We Need to Talk to Kevin. I haven’t seen it yet but I just ordered it on Blockbuster @Home so I should be getting it in the mail. From what I have read and heard, it’s a recommended film. Even my Dish co-workers told me I should watch it. I will definitely let you know what I thought.

Please let me know what you think!!

