On… The Avengers!!!

FINALLY!! Today I took my two older boys to see the Avengers, after weeks of meaning to without being able. But it was SO worth the wait!! We enjoyed it immensely (I think I more than them). In case you haven’t seen it, spoiler alert!

The plot of the movie is no secret, I think. Loki is angry, he wants revenge. That pretty much sums it up. Nick Fury notices the situation is way beyond normal resources, so the Avengers have to assemble. I forgot to mention that Loki wants to take his revenge by bringing an evil alien army, right? They SO need the Avengers. And… what city is under imminent danger? You guessed, New York. It’s always New York.

I can’t really say what I liked the most. The acting was great, the effects were outstanding, it was full of action, it had great comedic timing… it was a really excellent movie. That was a relief, since I think everyone was afraid we were expecting too much. But it did deliver.

One thing I liked very much was the definition of every character. They truly are a team, even though at first you can’t really see that. but they learn how to work together, while keeping their very distinct personalities. Thor is a god and a ruler who has undeerstood the value of love and the people. Bruce Banner is a brilliant scientist, buthe’s also terrified of what he can become. Black Widow is deadly, but we also learn a bit about her human side. Hawkeye is a loyal warrior. Captain America is a hero; a leader, a good and honorable man, but he won’t shy away from kicking some behinds (and fronts) when needed. And Tony Stark is… well, Tony Stark. Conceited, brilliant, self reliant, and adorable. All the characters we’ve learned to know and love are here, true to themselves. Another thing I love is when the movie makers take care of their universe by keeping actors we know from other movies: Stellan Skarsgard, Gwineth Paltrow, Paul Bettany (Jarvis, I love you), even a bit of Natalie Portman. I LOVE continuity.

Special mention goes to Tom Hiddleston, aka Loki. He is just fascinating. He has a very sweet face, great eyes and a lovable smile… and he’s twisted and evil. What an awesome combo. I hope we see more of Tom Hiddleston in the future; he’s a great actor.

I also want to mention that, as much as I’d liked to see Edward Norton as Banner, I think Mark Ruffalo did a fantastic job. He was very believable, and I loved all his exchanges with Tony Stark. So much fun. And talking about Loki… what Hulk did to Loki is just priceless.

I watched the movie in 3D, since the normal one wasn’t available for another half hour, and we had to be home as early as possible. I liked it, but I don’t think it’s much better than the normal version. It does look darker, though. I look forward to watching it again on home video. Oh, and I also had to watch it in Spanish. The dubbing was good, but I’ll enjoy it so much more when I see it in English.

So… I loved this movie, and if you’re a super hero geek like me, you will too. It’s fun and exciting, AND it has great acting. What else can we ask for? I know, a sequel!!! And from what we saw during the credits, it’s going to be SO exciting!!!

Have you seen it? What do you think? Do tell!!

See you soon!

Please let me know what you think!!

