On… Bath buns!

I have officially made my first Unofficial Harry Potter Cookbook recipe: Bath buns. I made them in two phases, and I have to say they are veeeeery good.

The two phases that I mentioned were as follows: yesterday I did everything up to the rising time with the buns already formed, for which I put them in the fridge. Why? Because I wanted them ready in the morning, and I wasn’t going to have time to do everything then. This morning I took them out of the fridge early and left them to rise a bit more, which was easy, seeing as it’s SO hot these days. After that, I put them in the oven.

According to the book, these are called Bath buns for the city of Bath, in Southwest England. Among the ingredients are cranberries (since I dont have currants) and lemon and orange peel. I’m not going to post the recipe because I’m pretty sure this is copywrighted. Besides, it’s looooooong…. The point is, funnily enough, these taste pretty much like our Pan de muerto in Mexico. It’s probably the peels that give it the flavor.

My kids liked them a lot, and I hope my hubby will too. In any case, they will have to disappear today, since the recipe says they don’t keep well.

As soon as I make something else from the book, I’ll let you know. In the meantime, see you soon!

Please let me know what you think!!

