On my favorite musical…

The time has come for this beloved category of mine. There are many musicals I have seen and enjoyed, but only one that holds a very dear place in my heart. if you have read me before, you’ll know which one it is. If you haven’t, here we go…

Day 9: Favorite musical.

And that is, of course, Andrew Lloyd Webber’s The Phantom of the Opera.

This has been my favorite musical forever. When I watched it in Mexico, with my mother, I could hardly believe my eyes. Everything was perfect. When I learned that there’d be a movie, I was ecstatic. And I’m glad to say it didn’t disappoint.

First of all, two words: Gerard Butler. The guy is awesome. I loved him as the Phantom, and he hadn’t played Leonidas yet… that only made him more perfect. But I digress.

The scenery in this movie is beautiful. The casting was good in general, although I wasn’t entirely happy with Emmy Rossum. She can sing, but you also need potency in Christine Daaé’s voice. I loved the first scene, when the teather transforms from being in ruins to being at its best; it’s just magical. Whenever I see it, I remember the time when I saw it in Mexico, and it brings tears to my eyes. Beautiful.

I was really glad to get the anniversary edition of the play on DVD. It is soooooo good… but this movie is beautiful. You just gotta love Butler’s saying “sing for meeeeeee!!!”

So, that’s it. At least, so far… I still have to watch Les Misérables. Maybe, just maybe, I will like it better; who knows?

So, How about you? Do you like musicals? What’s your favorite one?

See you soon!

4 thoughts on “On my favorite musical…

Please let me know what you think!!

