On orange marmalade and Harry Potter…

Ok, I’ve made another recipe from my Unofficial Harry Potter Cookbook. It’s orange marmalade.

I decided to make this one because I love orange marmalade… although I’m not sure many people like it. Actually, many people I know don’t exactly love it, because it’s always a tad bitter. That’s exactly why I like it so much. It’s just different.

This recipe is really easy to make. It’s a bit tiring, because you have to make sure to eliminate all the bitter parts, but easy. In fact, I’m actually going to put it here.

The ingredients are: 3 oranges, 2 cups of water and 2 cups of sugar. You boil the oranges for 1 1/2 hours and peel them. separate the peel from the white stuff, because it’s REALLY bitter. Mince the peels and put them in a saucepan. Chop the peeled oranges, discarding the pits, and put them in a food processor. Process until smooth and put through a sieve to get all the juice, using a rubber spatula. Put the juice in the saucepan with the water and the sugar. Boil on medium-high (stirring constantly) until it begins to bubble. Clip a candy thermometer to the pan and stir constantly until the mixture reaches 220°F, and remove from the heat. It yields enough marmalade to fill a normal, medium sized jar.

The end result? Great!! At least, I liked it. It’s sweet and tangy. I tried it on some salty crackers and loved it.

Well, that’s it for now, but I’ll be back very soon. See you then!

 

Please let me know what you think!!

