On the first movie I ever remember watching.

Oh, this is a hard one… When I was little, my sister used to take me and my nephew to the movies (I am 18 days older than him). There are a few movies I remember watching from those times, such as King Kong, Alligator (I know!! Go figure…), and a few others. But the very first one I remember watching is…

Day 29: First movie you ever remember watching.

Star Wars: A New Hope.

Yes, it was 1978 and I was 4 years old (don’t bother; I’m 38). I’m assuming it was 1978, because although the movie is from 1977, I highly doubt my sister would have taken us to the movies as soon as it was released… besides, back in those times, movies would be in cinemas for ages. Anyways, my sister took me to watch it, and I’m sorry to say I… fell asleep. I do remember bits and pieces from then, but I didn’t see the whole thing. Years later, of course, my sister took us to see The Empire strikes back and The Return of the Jedi. The latter was the one I enjoyed the most, basically because I was already 9 and able to sit through a movie awake. But of course, I revisited Star Wars years later, and I enjoyed it immensely. It’s one of the franchises I like the most. I’m not going to lie; it’s not my favorite one, but one of the lucky ones.

I love it because it really took advantage of the resources (or lack of resources) they had. I love Chewbacca. I love Han Solo and R2D2. And, of course, Obi-Wan Kenobi. And if those were not enough reasons, there’s the beginning of the movie, and the very first time we heard John Williams’s music following the words “A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away…”

What about you? What’s the first movie you remember watching?

See you soon!

Please let me know what you think!!

