On The Dark Knight Rises!!!

YES!!!! My dream became true and I went to see The Dark Knight Rises today. I had lots of expectations, and I wasn’t disappointed at all. If you haven’t seen the movie, don’t worry, I don’t plan to spoil the fun for you.

Eight years have passed since the White Knight of Gotham, Harvey Dent, died. Everybody thinks the Batman killed him. In all those long years, Batman has been nowhere to be seen. However, a very serious threat appears in the city, and Batman will have to reappear… or the city will disappear.

That’s basically the idea of the movie, with lots of more detail, of course. We know who is there, because the trailer tells us: Bane. His story is very intricate; more than is apparent at the beginning. Selina Kyle is also there; her story is not that complex, but it’s interesting as well. We can also see the usual suspects: Gordon, Alfred, Mr. Fox. We also get new characters, but those you’ll have to discover yourself.

I can’t speak highly enough of the acting in this movie. Everyone was superb; especially Michael Caine, Christian Bale and Anne Hathaway. I have always liked her, but I have a completely new level of respect towards her… the girl can act!! Now I can wait even less until Les Misérables. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is also incredible, but when isn’t he, right? The only possible exception is Marion Cotillard. She’s fine, but that’s it.

The story… Batman Begins was exciting, interesting; the birth of THE superhero. The Dark Knight was exciting and nerve wrecking, as well as spectacular. We get to see the Batman at the height of his power, and the end is heart wrenching. Remember that feeling at the end? Frustration and sadness? Well, The Dark Knight Rises regales us with unlimited frustration, sadness, and also a dash of actual fear… and also excitement, joy and intrigue. Plus, it’s also spectacular. It’s the PERFECT ending for this trilogy. At times I wanted to cry, cheer, cry again, beg… It is the most moving of the three, I think.

I have stumbled upon a few… rumors, so to call them, that say that there might be another movie. I am so divided about that… my strongest feeling is: please, no. It’s perfect like this. On the other hand, they give us a little hint that everything is not said and done yet… but I prefer it to stay like this.

Please, if you can and if you love Batman like I do, go see this movie. It’s AMAZING.

Will you go see it? Are you a fan of the Dark Knight?

See you soon!

2 thoughts on “On The Dark Knight Rises!!!

  1. I managed to see this recently. It’s so difficult to avoid spoilers with today’s Internet accessibility. However, I had formulated in my mind what I thought was going to happen. I wasn’t disappointed, but I wasn’t blown away like I was with Dark Knight. Not to say that DKR was a bad movie, on the contrary, it was really good. Considering that movie trilogies have either a rushed or an overall “bad” ending (Ahem, Spider-Man 3), DKR was a really good way to close out Nolan’s trilogy.

    • Yes… I had no preconceived ideas, and I was really surprised and excited. I loved it. But I could have done without the “look what may happen later” hint… Anyways, I can’t wait to see it again, I hope sooner rather than later.

Please let me know what you think!!

