On my favorite Sci-Fi movie.

Sci-Fi? Well, there can only be one choice for that. There are some sci-fi films that I quite enjoy, but my favorite is definitely…

43. Favorite sci-fi.

STAR WARS!!!

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away…

“A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away…” A phrase that excited us for a long, long time. What has ever been more exciting than seeing that spaceship appear out of nowhere? Than hearing Darth Vader’s voice? Than hearing that sentence, “I am your father”? Star Wars shaped our childhood. Its philosopy has touched our lives in one way or another.

When I say Star Wars is my favorite Sci-Fi, I mean the first trilogy, complete. Out of those, Return of the Jedi would be my favorite. I also enjoy the second trilogy (Revenge of the Sith being my favorite), but the first one is immensely better. The effects required more care and ingenuity; the work required to make them was colossal. And it gave us our heroes for the very first time: Yoda, R2D2, C3P0, Obi-Wan… etcetera. And if that weren’t enough, there’s John Williams’s music.

What do I not like about Star Wars? First and foremost: Jar Jar. Unnecesary and lame. And second, George Lucas’s obsession with revamping it every three seconds. There are things he has done that I think are good (like putting Hayden Christiansen as the spirit of Anakin at the end of Return of the Jedi; it gives closure), but he has gone way too far.

What about you? What’s your favorite science-fiction film? Are you a Star Wars fan?

See you soon!

8 thoughts on “On my favorite Sci-Fi movie.

  1. The best, love it. Original trilogy still best series ever. Jedi is underrated; that’s the core of the series in the end, that completes the theme of redemption.

    • Exactly!! If we take it that Star Wars is the story of Anakin Skywalker, it’s actually the most important of them all, because it talks of his redemption thanks to the love he felt for his son, whether he liked it or not.

  2. My personal favorite from the entirety of the series is Empire Strikes Back. Something about making the tone darker and much more uninviting made it seem a lot more real. Thus, the consequences and the stakes were raised to incredible heights. Not a fan of Episodes I or VI though. Just personal opinion.

    One thing I genuinely hate about the series is how Lucas continues to add/”improve” upon the movies. Example: the recent Blu-ray release has Darth Vader crying “Nooo!” when he throws the Emperor in ROTJ. Why can’t I just see the movie as it was intended to be released? It’d be like if Chris Nolan rereleased Batman Begins with updated special effects. Unnecessary.

    While I love Star Wars (don’t get me wrong), I find that my favorite sci/fi movie is Inception. And I’m not just saying that because I love Chris Nolan. The idea that our mind is a powerful and, at the same time, a very dangerous tool was a very interesting concept. Didn’t add any of the Matrix movies because I don’t really like any of them.

    • Funny… I hadn’t even thought of the Matrix or Inception as sci-fi movies, although they are, right? I don’t know; Inception seems to me like so much more than “just” science fiction; it’s fascinating. The Matrix I like, especially the first one, but they are definitely not my favorite movies.

      • I just never got the Matrix. I tried watching it and I hated every minute of it. Don’t know why. But Inception I consider a realistic sci-fi movie only because, despite the absurdity of entering someone’s dreams, it feels like it could possibly exist.

        • Haha… I did like the Matrix, but as I said, the first one mostly. The second one has amazing effects. The third one… is the third one. But Inception is so complex…. I love complex.

  3. I absolutely have to recommend a short lived series Firefly and the accompanying movie Serenity. It’s by far my favorite sci-fi series/movie. It truly plays on space being the frontier as it focusing on a smuggling crew [like Solo] as they struggle to survive on a harsh frontier. You’ll quickly fall into the cult fanbase. I promise you won’t regret it!

Please let me know what you think!!

