On my favorite Mexican movie.

Well, the challenge calls from my favorite film from my country. Since I’m Mexican, then it’s my favorite Mexican movie, right? Well, that would be…

44. Favourite movie from your country.

Amores perros.

This is the only movie directed by Alejandro González Iñárritu that I like. Babel showed promise, and some of it was really good. But at some point, González Iñárritu started to think too much of himself and make movies only he cares about (or understands). I’m sorry if you like his movies in general… well, there are only three. And don’t get me started on that short he made for a movie concerning 9/11. Terrible. But I digress.

As I said, Amores Perros is my favorite current Mexican movie, although it is NOT perfect. There are many old movies that I love, and also many good new movies. But when I saw this movie, it really shook me. It was real, intense and very intelligent. Also, it has one of the best car crashing scenes I’ve ever seen.

The three stories intertwine, the three have dogs in them. Some of the dogs are put to terrible ordeals (dog fights), but all of them are deeply loved by its owners; sometimes too much. Devastation, murder, even a twisted form of redemption can be seen in this movie. If you haven’t seen it, do. Unless you are deeply disturbed and/or sickened by dog fights. Even then, remember it’s only a movie, and no dogs were harmed.

What about you? What’s te movie you prefer from your country?

See you soon!

Please let me know what you think!!

