On an orange dude called Lorax.

I recently had a chance to watch The Lorax. I had heard very good things about it, so I had some expectations. Not many, but some. And… the expectations were kind of… not met. 

The Lorax is the story of a town called Thneedville, a place where there are no real trees. There are only custom-made trees which don’t give out any oxygen. Ted is a boy who is set on finding out what happened to the trees, and what he finds changes the future of the town.

And… who is the Lorax? We could say he’s an orange little guy who is responsible for taking care of the trees. Or was, when there were actually trees. We don’t see much of him during the movie. He is played by Danny DeVito, so the voice is great. Of course.

Good points I found in The Lorax: the message, obviously. If you make irresponsible use of what mother nature has provided, big trouble ensues. Take care of nature, and we’ll be fine. But the very first thing you have to do, is CARE about stuff.

Another good point: it is visually beautiful. You can almost feel the texture of the trees; it’s amazing. The performances are good in general; I personally preferred Betty White as the grandmother. It’s a sweet movie, perfect for kids to understand that even they, who are little, can help protect nature.

Bad points: I thought it was too loud. Especially during the musical moments. And the musical moments are another thing; I didn’t like them. Maybe I’m just not used to having songs performed during a movie so much anymore, but I don’t think that’s it, since I still love other animated movies with music. The songs did reflect the story, but they were… too loud? Too much? Too many? I really don’t know how to say it, but I didn’t like the songs. At all.

One thing I liked a lot was the Lorax himself, but he’s almost not there. Maybe that’s just because in the original story that’s the way it is; I wouldn’t know that, since in Mexico it’s not so common to find and/or read Dr. Seuss. I just would have liked to see more Lorax and less singing.

As a conclusion, while I did enjoy the movie, I don’t think I will see it again. And I have no problem with watching movies hundreds of times, if I like them.

Have you seen The Lorax? Did you like it? Do tell!

See you soon!

Please let me know what you think!!

