On the most overrated movie there is.

I will make a confession. The challenge asked for “most overrated actor/actress”, but I just couldn’t think of one… so, I changed the post to an easier one.

46. Most overrated movie.

Wow, I’m divided again… and I’m completely aware that many people may just not agree with me, at all. I have two movies in mind, and both by James Cameron. And they are…

Titanic and Avatar.

????????

Really. Don’t get me wrong; I really enjoy Titanic and Avatar whenever I see them. I just don’t think they are the mega ultra awesome movies many people think. Why?

  • They are very cliché. Titanic is basically “rich girl meets poor guy, they fall in love, their love is impossible”. The story is absolutely nothing new. It feels like Lady and the Tramp (without the happy ending), and Avatar is Dances with Wolves (and others) all over again.
  • They are SO predictable. Really, is there a single moment in which you don’t know what’s going to happen?

Of course, they are superbly made movies. The thing is, without a really good and original story, all the special effects in the world don’t make a superb movie. They are very enjoyable films, great to watch, but that’s it. I still think Titanic won too many awards. I mean, Best Movie, when L.A. Confidential was in the competition too? That was a much smaller movie, but much more interesting and complex.

Of course you may agree or disagree; in fact, I’d love to read your ideas!

Well, see you soon!!

10 thoughts on “On the most overrated movie there is.

  1. It’s funny you mention these two movies because I a) love them both and b) was thinking exactly the same thing. Granted, they have a good story, interesting use of effects and good performances. But they do end up with the same generic formula that you pointed out earlier. It’s like, whether or not you see Titanic, you know, from history, that the boat’s going to sink.
    I would say that the Twilight/Transformers movies are overrated but they’ve mostly gotten negative reviews, so I can’t rightfully say that they are, in fact, overrated.

    • Hahaha… I know! Actually there is a movie also called “Titanic”, with Catherine Zeta Jones (where Steven Spielberg discovered her), which is MUCH better storywise. It’s with Peter Gallagher, Tim Curry, George C. Scott, etc. I truly recommend that. The boat also sinks, there’s also a love tragedy, but it’s SO interesting!!
      About Twilight and Transformers, I don’t think they’re overrated. The Twilight films could have been better, but I don’t think they’re bad. As for Transformers, only the first one is worth something. The others are all effects and no content.

  2. Interesting post. I completely agree with you, actually – both ‘Titanic’ and ‘Avatar’ are overrated – I have seen these films, and I have no desire to do it again or own them on a DVD (and there are hundreds of other films I love to re-watch hundreds of times, yes, weird). I think they tend to give awards on the basis of a film’s ‘grandeur’, importance of the story etc – this means that epic films will always have the edge . I do also think that ‘Dances with Wolves’, ‘Star Wars’ and ‘Lord of the Rings’ are hugely overrated.

    • Yes, I know… although –thankfully– Avatar didn’t get as many awards as Titanic; not even close. I can’t agree on Star Wars nor LOTR (especially LOTR), since I love them dearly…

  3. I think the Batman/Superman/Spiderman…really, any comic book action movie, is overrated. Though I love Christian Bale, and enjoyed Batman Begins, I could not stand The Dark Knight (mostly because I couldn’t stand Heath Ledger or his performance – one of the worst ever, in my opinion), but for the most part, anything based on a comic book is hugely overrated.

    • Oh, I do disagree there… the thing is, you have to be into that kind of thing in order to enjoy it. For those of us who love comic book cinema, those movies are great… with some exceptions, of course. And I loved Heath Ledger in TDK… but hey, we can’t always agree, right? 🙂

Please let me know what you think!!

