On a most dangerous method.

I recently watched A dangerous method, with Keira Knightley, Michael Fassbender and Viggo Mortensen. What did I think? I thought I couldn’t like Fassbender and Mortensen more than I already did, but I was wrong. Big time.

I don’t like you, Keira. I really don’t.

This is the story of Karl Jung (Michael) and how he applied the method that Sigmund Freud (Viggo) devised, which Jung came to call psychoanalysis. He used the method to cure Sabina Spielrein (Keira), who was deeply disturbed by her past. Only things didn’t go exactly as he would have liked; he had to face his own demons and create his own ideas in the process.

This movie is basically an acting lesson. Everyone is AMAZING. The story is a bit heavy, but hey, it’s psychoanalysis that’s being discussed. The costumes, characterization, scenery, everything is beautiful and helps us get into the story. One thing I didn’t particularly like was Jung’s wife, but I’m sure she had to be like that for the movie; not expressive at all, not likeable.

If you like action in movies, or a very fast paced thing, you may not like A Dangerous method. It’s not slow per se, but it is a little dense, as I mentioned before. But it’s good, and the acting is impeccable.

Well, I hope to be back very soon; see you then!

One thought on “On a most dangerous method.

  1. Pingback: A Dangerous Method (David Cronenberg, 2011) | splendidcinema

Please let me know what you think!!

