On the movie from my year of birth that I like the most.

That is a no brainer. There are movies from 1974 that I like; The Towering Inferno, The Texas Chainsaw massacre… but the best, and the winner of the Academy Award of that year, and my very favorite, is…

55. The best movie that was released in the year that you were born.

The Godfather, part II.

Once upon a time, I didn’t really like the Godfather movies. But then, when I was in my 20’s, I started paying attention. And this movie is brilliant.

I love the present/past combination they make in this movie. Vito Corleone’s life, from childhood to adulthood, combined with Michael as the new head of the family… Two amazing actors, Pacino and DeNiro, being flawless… and I have to say it, maybe not for the first time (and definitely not for the last time): Robert DeNiro was SO handsome in this movie. Oh, and how to forget one of my favorite quotes from all time: “I know it was you, Fredo. You broke my heart”.

1974 gave very good movies. But this is a true classic.

What about you? What’s your favorite movie from your birthyear?

See you soon!

2 thoughts on “On the movie from my year of birth that I like the most.

  1. In truth, mine is To Kill a Mockingbird, but as I’ve used that one already, I’m going with The Miracle Worker. Stellar performances by both Anne Bancroft and Patty Duke. I still watch it, I still love it. Oh, and the year…1962.

Please let me know what you think!!

