On a certain Huntsman…

Ok, I’m back from the break I took after finishing the movie challenge.

I watched a few movies these past days; and one of them was Snow White and the Huntsman. All in all, I found it very enjoyable. But there’s always a but!

First of all, I think it’s a very clever spin on the classical story of Snow White and the seven dwarves. There’s very good acting as well.

This movie relates the story of Snow White, a pure child who is life itself embodied. Her parents die, of course, and the realm is left with an evil queen/witch as sovereign. This queen has lived for some time, though, and she needs maidens to suck out their life and beauty. Who is the first prize? You guessed, Snow White. The witch queen ‘hires’ –not to say forcibly persuades– the huntsman to find Snow White. However, the huntsman has his own agenda.

Kristen Stewart plays Snow White. Kristen’s haters out there, I’m sorry. I like Stewart’s acting. I have always liked her, ever since I saw her in Panic Room. She’s a good Snow White. Chris Hemsworth is a very good huntsman, but hey, he can do no wrong in my eyes. Charlize Theron is the evil queen, and I am sorry to say I didn’t enjoy her very much. She is gorgeous, yes, but I think she overacted. A lot.

I was eager to see Sam Claflin, seeing as he’s Mr. Finnick Odair himself. I’m happy to say he is a very decent actor, and more than anything, I could picture Finnick when I saw him. The dwarves were a very nice surprise, because all of them are very good actors, and most of them known. And the special effects were AWESOME.

So, what didn’t I like? Charlize’s overacting, for one. And the fact that the movie could have had a great ending, but it was more of a big question mark. I won’t give spoilers, but I think they should have given a sense of closure in the end, and they didn’t.

Overall, I really liked this movie, and I will buy it eventually. But it could have been better, especially the ending.

So, what about you? Have you seen this movie?

See you soon!

Please let me know what you think!!

