On a letter to my 14-year-old self.

Ok, this is me, trying to write, using the NaBloPoMo as an excuse. Using the great Daily Post, I might add. The suggestion for today is a letter to my 14-year-old self. Interesting indeed, right?

Dear 14-year-old Ari,

Wow, there are so many things I’d like to tell you, that I really don’t know where to start. You are new in the life business, with your whole life in front of you… here are some things that I, your 38-year-old self, would like you to know.

First of all, cherish your mother. More than you already do, that is. She really won’t be there forever.

Don’t take so personal all the things Dad tells you. Many of them are just reflections of his own conflicted past. Besides, he genuinely wants your well-being. Do not, I repeat, do NOT let the mean things he says have a permanent effect on your self-esteem.

Talking about self-esteem, you let people’s opinions affect you too much. Don’t. Remember, the only ones you have to please and make happy are God and yourself.

Don’t waltz around longing for people’s acceptance, basically for the same reasons. The people who accept you for who you are are the ones that matter. If they don’t, it’s their problem, not yours.

In a few years you’ll leave your parents’ house. Please remember that you are a unique and very valuable person, and don’t let anybody take that value away. Live a full, happy life, and give your heart only to those that prove worthy.

There are more things I’d like to tell you, but there would be spoilers… Just remember that you are one of a kind, and you must always love yourself.

Love,

Me(you).

PS: One more thing!! Read The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings as soon as you can, and read Harry Potter as soon as it’s released. Also, watch the new Doctor Who series as soon as it begins (2005), or as soon as possible. You won’t regret it!! 😉

 

That’s it. Funny thing, how this stuff makes you think.

Any thoughts? Would you like to say something to your 14-year-old self?

See you soon!

3 thoughts on “On a letter to my 14-year-old self.

  1. Pingback: Daily Post: Letter to my 14 year old self « Edgledge's Ramblings

  2. You telling yourself to read Harry Potter reminded me of the scene in Frequency, when the grown man tells his young self’s best friend to remember the word ‘yahoo’.
    Not sure what I’d tell myself, I’d have to think about it…

Please let me know what you think!!

