On an extremely expected journey…

Oh yes!!! And a journey that all of us Tolkien fans hoped for for a long time. A journey that was almost not accomplished, but thank goodness, we can participate of together. Of course, I’m talking about The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.

516489-the-hobbit

First of all I have to say I did not know what to expect. I love The Hobbit book, and I wanted to see a movie worthy of it. Of course I wasn’t too concerned, since The Lord of the Rings trilogy was excellent. But… three movies? I didn’t really think they were necessary. I’m more than happy to report that now that I have seen it, I understand. And as unhappy as I am at having to wait so long for the next two, they will be totally worth the wait.

The first scene is breathtaking: a detailed explanation of what happened between the dwarves and Smaug, and why Thorin was so determined to get back to Erebor as King under the Mountain. And I am SO thankful for it. In the book you understand, but you don’t really feel for Thorin. He looks more like a grouchy dude who is just pissed and wants what is his. Thanks to this bit in the movie you really understand him and support him in his quest.

We also loved how you first see old Bilbo and Frodo (same clothes as in the beginning of Fellowship and all), and how it very subtly goes on to tell the story of young Bilbo.

hobbit-part-1-bilbo-baggins-gollum

Really, If I were to tell you what I liked about every scene, I wouldn’t finish. It’s like reading the book, but with lots more of rich details… The dwarves are splendid, and I love that we can really see them as individuals. My favorite dwarves have to be, in order: Thorin, Balin, Kili and Fili. Character development is very well done. Gandalf is great (duh); Gollum seems more detailed… but I loved Bilbo the most. Martin Freeman is just fantastic in this movie. He’s just… well, Bilbo. He embodies him so well… I can’t wait to see him in the other two movies, especially when he’ll get in trouble with Thorin…

The music!!! Oh, the music. It is AMAZING. It is a whole new thing, and yet it blends perfectly with the music from LOTR. Howard Shore: my hat goes off to you. The only thing I don’t like about it is that I still can’t get it on iTunes. I WANT IT.

And on the topic of the dwarves, here’s a little video where the cast of AUJ tries to name all the dwarves as quickly as they can:

Well, that’s all I can say now without going all fangirl on the topic… This movie is definitely a must see. And if I could actually watch it in 48 FPS, I’d be even happier. And by the way, my two older boys loved the movie as well. Not as much as I did, of course… but hey, I’m a bit (?) obsessed.

I hope to be back soon… I can’t promise anything, seeing as the next days will be busy busy…

See you soon(ish)!!

Please let me know what you think!!

