On two friends and a band of guardians…

Yup! I’m back. This time I’ll talk about two movies I had the opportunity (and luck) to watch. Both very different, both very good. But both leave you with a good feeling about them…

6a014e6089cbd5970c0163018f34ef970d-800wi

The first is Intouchables, French movie from 2011. I had wanted to watch it for a while, but only recently was I able to. It’s about two men who become friends in a very unexpected way: one is a quadriplegic aristocrat (Phillipe); the other a poor man (Driss) who suddenly finds himself homeless. They meet each other when Driss becomes Phillipe’s caretaker. And lo and behold, Driss treats Phillipe like he would any other person. No hints of pity or overprotection.

This is a very touching story, especially because it’s based on a true story. It shows the best in humanity; just the kind of movies that I like the most. I highly recommend it.

 

640x338xArticle-Header-Rise-of-the-Guardians-Review.jpg.pagespeed.ic.ZAo30fxdkQ

The other movie I saw is an animated one, and it’s Rise of the Guardians. It is a movie about how children stop believing in the Guardians (Santa Claus, the Tooth Fairy, Sandman, the Easter Bunny,  etc.) thanks to the Boogey man and his evil plan… mwahahahaha. Until Jack Frost, who inicially nobody sees or believes in, changes everything.

This movie has excellent voices (Hugh Jackman, Chris Pine, Alec Baldwin, Jude Law, Isla Fisher, etc.) and BEAUTIFUL animation. It’s a great story, full of hope and fantasy. Why it wasn’t nominated for an Oscar, beats me. Actually, I have to confess that I liked it more than Brave. The characters are absolutely lovable, and the bad guy (voiced by Jude Law) is horrible/awesome. It’s also very funny and heart-wrenching. I also recommend it VERY highly. And by the way, my kids loved it.

So, those are my recommendations for today… I really hope you like them!!

See you soon!

Please let me know what you think!!

