On what I thought about the Oscars!!

The Oscars came and went, and now here I am, telling you guys what I thought. In general, I was pleased, but there were some exceptions, as usual.

First of all, what did I think about Seth McFarlane? He was ok. Many jokes were out of place/vulgar, some others were ok. I want Hugh Jackman back.

And now, for the winners with my comments (Taken from Deadline Hollywood):

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE
Christoph Waltz, Django Unchained – I couldn’t agree more. He was AMAZING.

ANIMATED SHORT FILM
Paperman – BEAUTIFUL!! The perfect mix between CGI and classic animation. And it’s cute.
John Kahrs

ANIMATED FEATURE
Brave – Was it better than the other nominees? I think so. Was it the abolutely best animated film from 2012? Nah.
Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman

CINEMATOGRAPHY
Claudio MirandaLife Of Pi – I have yet to see it, but from what I’ve seen, it looks awesome.

VISUAL EFFECTS
Life Of Pi – same as above.
Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer and Donald R. Elliott

COSTUME DESIGN
Jacqueline DurranAnna Karenina – I’d have preferred Les Mis to win, but I’m parcial.

MAKEUP & HAIRSTYLING
Les Misérables – YEAH!!!!!!!!
Lisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell

LIVE ACTION SHORT FILM
Curfew – No idea. Ha!
Shawn Christensen

DOCUMENTARY SHORT SUBJECT
Inocente – Same as above.
Sean Fine and Andrea Nix Fine

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE
Searching For Sugar Man – Man, I do have to watch these things…
Malik Bendjelloul and Simon Chinn

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM
Amour (Austria) – It sounds lovely and touching. I hope I can watch it soon.
Michael Haneke, director; Margaret Menegoz, Stefan Arndt, Veit Heiduschka and Michael Katz, Producers

SOUND MIXING
Les Misérables – Of course!! Making the singing alive thing sound good must have been challenging. And Javert’s fall… ouch!
Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson and Simon Hayes

SOUND EDITING
(tie)
Zero Dark Thirty
Paul N.J. Ottosson

Skyfall
Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers – I’ll watch these soon. Ish.

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE
Anne HathawayLes Misérables – ABSOLUTELY!!

FILM EDITING
Argo – I ned to watch this… :S
William Goldenberg

PRODUCTION DESIGN
Lincoln – It does look stunning…
Production Design: Rick Carter; Set Decoration: Jim Erickson

ORIGINAL SCORE
Life Of Pi – ……….
Mychael Danna

ORIGINAL SONG
“Skyfall” from Skyfall – Oh yes. Great song!
Music and Lyric by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY
Chris TerrioArgo – ………

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY
Quentin TarantinoDjango Unchained – Great and original. Great he won!

DIRECTING
Ang LeeLife Of Pi – I really have to see this movie. It’s embarrassing.

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE
Jennifer LawrenceSilver Linings Playbook – Haven’t watched it, but Jennifer Lawrence is a fantastic actress. I’m sure she deserves it.

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE
Daniel Day-LewisLincoln – I was rooting for Hugh Jackman. The range of him… but DDL is great.

BEST PICTURE
Argo – I take their word for it.
Grant Heslov, Ben Affleck and George Clooney, Producers

So, that’s it!! How about you? What did you think of the results?? Do let me know!!

See you soon!

6 thoughts on “On what I thought about the Oscars!!

  1. You definitely have to watch Life of Pi! Overall, a predictable Oscars. I’m happiest for Ang Lee for winning Best Director, though it’s funny he’s won that award twice but he’s never won a Best Picture Oscar (the time before was for directing Brokeback Mountain, losing to Crash).

  2. I will not watch Argo because of the fact that they give the credit to the Americans. Even Jimmy Carter says it was 90% Canadian, 10% American, but Ben Affleck (of whom I am NOT a fan) re-wrote history. I haven’t seen any of these movies, not a big fan of award shows, but I do want to see Silver Linings Playbook and Les Mis. I am thrilled that Jennifer Lawrence won, she is so talented. Not a fan of DDL or Anne Hathaway, so not thrilled they won, and have only seen Waltz in Carnage, but he was terrific in that.

Please let me know what you think!!

