On my (long overdue) take on Man of Steel…

Yup. I know. Incorregible. Why I waited this long, I know not. But here I am, with my thoughts collected (ish) about this wonderful movie.

man-of-steel-flag

Well, as you can imagine from the word “wonderful”, I really enjoyed Man of Steel. Actually, it exceeded my expectations. Well… to be honest, I didn’t know what to expect from it. I only knew that I wanted to like it.

We all know the story, right? Little Kal-El gets shipped to Earth by his parents because Krypton is in imminent danger. Boy gets to Earth, grows up to be the Man of Steel. But I think there’s so much more than that in this movie.

The Kal-El we remember from Christopher Reeve’s movies is pretty much gone. He was sure of himself, and of his position on the planet. At least in the first movie. I loved him, by the way. Reeve has a very definite place in my heart. But my problem was that I never really connected with him, he being all for freedom, justice and the American way. He was too comfortable being in a position which is unimaginable. That’s where I started to love Henry Cavill’s Man of Steel. He represents what I think would be a more logical thing: a troubled man, who is really good in nature (and nurture), but doesn’t really know where he fits, or if he fits at all. Oh, and the fact that he is GORGEOUS didn’t hurt.

The scene (which is not a spoiler, since it’s on the trailer) where he asks his earthly father (Kevin Costner) if he should have let the kids on the bus die, and dad responds “maybe”, completely breaks my heart. Every time I see it, even on the trailer. It shows the willingness of the father to save his son from any harm, even at the cost of human lives. I don’t like that answer, but I understand it to a point. I would never want anything to happen to my kids either. But Clark knows this not the way to live, not for him. So he decides to leave and do what he wants: save human lives and do good, even if he has to disappear immediately. He doesn’t want to fight for justice, freedom and the American way; he just wants to do what is right. And I love him for it.

I think I can move to Jor-El now. I was SO pleased with him. Russell Crowe was FANTASTIC, and I loved that we got to see a lot of him in the movie. He was not a ghost, or an echo. He was a tangible presence, always aiming to do good as well. Awesome. So intelligent, so great. Ayelet Zurer, who plays Kal’s mother –Lara Lor-Van– was there briefly, but not before she presented us with the pain of a mother, even the doubt, at having to let her son go. Excellent.

More Kryptonians: General Zod was AMAZING. He wasn’t just bad because reasons; he had a purpose. And he had no choice either. He had a goal in mind and he had to achieve it. And the acting, wow!!!Michael Shannon was just fantastic (I don’t want to run out of adjectives here!!!). Faora-Ul (Antje Traue) deserves a special mention as well. Gorgeous, yet deadly. I loved the scenes she was in.

Ok, Earthlings: Kevin Costner delivered what I believe to be one of the best performances I’ve seen him do, even if it’s really short. He is loving, brave, but also a bit selfish… like any normal parent would be. Diane Lane (Martha Kent) was exceptional as Clark’s loving mother, as the rock that he could hold on to be safe in a sea of madness. I loved her.

I think Lois Lane deserves a new paragraph. As you may know, I LOVE Amy Adams. I think she is a great actress, ever since I watched Enchanted. And she gave me what I needed: a Lois Lane who is not stupid, who is not a damsel in distress, and whose (extensive) intelligence is not insulted by her not knowing that Clark Kent and Superman –even though the name is never mentioned– are one and the same. She is strong, capable, and willing to do what it takes to uncover the truth… however nasty it is. A strong, solid performance.

And please, let’s not forget this: Kal-El is powerful. I loved that he let the –puny– humans put some handcuffs on him, just to make them feel safe. But in truth, he is larger than life. And it’s good the humans get this particular point in good time, or the story would have been very different. He has to fight Zod… and in the process, virtually destroy Metropolis. Wow, I just couldn’t believe the level of destruction; massive, absolute. And the ending… I know it has created controversy, but I really thought our dear Superman had no choice at all. It was either that or the complete annihilation of the planet. And I could see the pain etched in that superbly handsome face. He did what he had to do.

Conclusion? Incredible movie; I absolutely recommend it. I never thought a movie could put depict the impossibility of the existence of a being such as Superman and make it credible at the same time. Thank you, Mr. Nolan. Thanks, Zack Snyder. You did it. You made me believe that this Man of Steel is the greatest superhero of all time.

Well, that’s it. Soon to come, my take on Monsters U!! Please feel free to leave comments. I love comments.

See you soon!

2 thoughts on “On my (long overdue) take on Man of Steel…

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing it, as you know, I kind of enjoy Mr Crowe. I have to admit, though I know it’s considered almost sacrilege now, I never did like Christopher Reeve as Superman. I will hum quietly to myself when Amy Adams is on screen (not a fan) and enjoy the rest of it 😉
    Thanks for the review. I’ve come to trust yours; looking forward to enjoying this one.

    • Well, thank you very much!!! I’m flattered and humbled. I did like Christopher Reeve, but as I mentioned, he was never relatable… it was more like I liked HIM. I loved him in Somewhere in time, for example. I thought that was a much better role for him. I won’t say anything about Amy Adams, since I’m very partial… hehehe. I hope you enjoy it!

Please let me know what you think!!

