On my latest stuff…

Wow, it feels like forever since the last time I was here.

It hasn’t been forever, but it has been a long time. A time in which I have seen lots of movies (many at the movie theater; yay me!), I split up with my husband, I got a job and I have had to make huge changes in my life. It hasn’t been easy, but there it is. Life’s not easy.

As for the movies, I really can’t say all I’d like to say. I’d rather answer questions –if you guys were kind enough to leave any, that is. Thankfully, I’ve seen most of what I’ve wanted to see.

As for the new job… now I’m an English teacher at a junior high school. It’s the most difficult thing I’ve ever had to do. Teens are so hard at that age… it’s that time when you really think you can eat the world, but you lack the scope to see that you can’t even begin the first bite without choking. They can be lovable, but also annoying to no end. They respect nobody unless they have a real danger awaiting them if they disrespect them. Many parents have the idea that we are nannies; that we ought to be nice and kind to kids that won’t even bother to shut up when you’re trying to explain something, It has been hard for me because I’ve always worked with adults; with people that actually WANT to learn. Junior high kids think that English is just a bonus subject, and they don’t pay the slightest attention. It makes me SO frustrated… however, there’s always that ray of light. That kid that will actually light up when he or she sees you, and tell you straight up how much they love you. That’s really priceless. The thought that I can really make a difference, even if it’s only in one person’s life, keeps me going. That and my kids, of course.

There are really many more things I’d like to talk about, but I can’t. Not yet, anyway. I just hope all this is going upward; I know it is, even if I can’t see how at the moment. What I do is: 1) trust God, and 2) just keep swimming, as one wise fish once said.

I think that’s all for now. Thanks for reading/listening. I really hope to be vack soon. Please, if you’d be so kind, leave questions for me to answer about movies… there are so many!!

4 thoughts on “On my latest stuff…

  1. Welcome back! I’ve been wondering about you. I’m happy to see you back, and hope things are going well, it sounds like you’ve been through a rough patch. I hope things are looking up. 🙂

    Movies…MOCKINGJAY Part 1!!!!! Thoughts?? I hope you’ve seen it. I LOVED it. What an ending. I don’t want to wait 10 more months.
    The only other movie I’ve seen so far is The Imitation Game, which I really wanted to like. I read the book which was good, but the movie was full of historical inaccuracies and cliches that really changed the truth of what happened and what he did. It makes me sad that they do that, because people who don’t know the story will believe the wrong history. Sigh.

    I want to see Unbroken, and am waiting for next year’s The Martian. If you haven’t read the book, by Andy Weir, I highly recommend it. It’s the best book I’ve read in a long time. Gripping, thrilling, laugh out loud, anxiety-inducing, heart in your mouth kind of book.

    • Well, thank you very much!! That makes me feel really good.
      I really liked Mockingjay P1. It definitely has the spirit of the book… but the good parts are almost all in the second part. However, do let me say this: the scene where Peeta almost strangles Katniss is terrifying!! Such a great performance by both Josh and Jennifer. I really can’t wait until P2 comes out.
      Being a comic book movie geek, I’m awaiting Age of Ultron, Fantastic 4, Anta Man… etc.
      Thank for the reply!! 🙂

  2. The strangling scene in Mockingjay was fantastic! I so wanted the movie to end right there. How terrifying and fabulous would that have been!? Love Katniss and Peeta…and Haymitch. I leaned over to my friend and said ‘Where’s Haymitch??’…and then – there he was. I think he’s my favourite character. I can’t wait for part 2, definitely all the good stuff is there.

    I see you’re a Whovian. I just started watching, because I love David Tennant, so I’ve only seen some of his episodes. Goofy and campy, but he sure is fun to watch.

Please let me know what you think!!

