On the Devil of Hell’s Kitchen…

Well, here I am. Late, but sure. I want to talk about Netflix’s Daredevil...

The short version: AMAZING. For the long version, keep reading!!

_1414516865

As many of you should know by now, Daredevil is about a blind lawyer who is also a vigilante in Hell’s Kitchen. Many people absolutely hated the 2003 movie starring Ben Affleck. Personally, I really liked that movie. The only thing I didn’t really like about it was Michael Clarke Duncan as the Kingpin… I loved him as an actor, but I think he was terrible in that movie.

When I saw that movie I didn’t know much about the backstory in general. I liked it, and I still do. However, the Netflix series is so, SO much better.

Where to begin? Let’s start with the performances. Each and every one of them is stellar. The series takes enough time to develop characters in such a way that you feel for them; even for the bad guys. Charlie Cox is amazing as Matt Murdock. He is the kind of guy that you can’t help but trust. So reassuring, so soft spoken, and yet completely firm in his convictions. And boy, can he give and get a beating!! Another important point here is that, while you have the MCU with larger than life heroes, here you have a guy who is a hero in his own right, but never so large. And that’s ok. This is the hero for the normal, everyday people; someone who truly cares about his neighborhood. And yet, at the same time they manage to drop tidbits and easter eggs concerning the larger MCU. I really hope Daredevil gets to be in Civil War… but I digress.

Deborah Ann Woll and Elden Henson are also great as Karen and Foggy… you just get to love them so fast! And I have to say, special mention goes to the FANTASTIC Vincent D’Onofrio. I have always loved his performances, but as Wilson Fisk he is completely perfect. He has created such a perfect character… you can see both the imposing, merciless crime boss and the extremely vulnerable human being. I love how it’s like every word that leaves his mouth pains him. In every language he speaks, too. He falls in love and suddenly you see this fierce lover who would do absolutely anything to protect his woman. How I love that!! How can you hate the bad guy when you see him in all his imperfection, vulnerability, and greatness?

Special mention goes to the choreography of the fight scenes. Completely flawless to my eyes. That final fight between Fisk and the Man in the Mask is the best I have seen in a long time (and I am an Arrow freak). I was jumping and completely unable to stay put.

I am really grateful that Daredevil has been renewed, but waiting so long will be torture. As much as I love Arrow, I have to say Daredevil is the best superhero series I’ve seen. You would say I am used to waiting, seeing as I am a Who and Sherlock fan, but it doesn’t get any easier. This is a truly great show, and I absolutely love it. I really can’t wait to see the next shows Netflix has in store (especially A.K.A. Jessica Jones… DAVID TENNANT!!). If I had to give stars, this would be a 5/5 star show. If you like superheroes and action flicks, you can’t miss Daredevil.

I’d love to know what you think; feel free to leave comments!! See you soon!

Please let me know what you think!!

